Holstein UK introduced its President’s Medal award to Natasha Kirby on the Worldwide Semex Convention in Glasgow yesterday night (Monday, January 16).

Kirby is a member of the Lancashire Holstein Younger Breeders (HYB) Membership and acquired the prize of an engraved medal and a visit to the Royal Winter Truthful in Toronto this November.

The Holstein UK President’s Medal goals to recognise and reward younger expertise within the subsequent technology of dairy farmers.

President of Holstein UK, John Jamieson, stated that Kirby has been an “integral a part of Lancashire Holstein Younger Breeders (HYB) for a few years” and that he was delighted to award her the medal.

“All through her time in HYB, Natasha has been devoted to collaborating in a large number of membership actions and likewise encouraging youthful members to develop their abilities throughout all facets of HYB,” he stated.

“I wish to prolong my congratulations to the runners up, Alison Lawrie and Pippa Tudor, who’re equally as passionate and devoted in direction of their careers within the dairy business and I want all of them the easiest for the longer term.”

Holstein UK President’s Medal award

The entry course of into the competitors for Holstein UK’s President’s Medal consists of golf equipment nominating one HYB member, aged 23-26, who should then submit an essay.

The essay title for 2022 was: ‘You might be at a recruitment honest. Persuade the younger folks attending that getting into the UK dairy business can be profession alternative’.

The 2022 President’s Medal finalists. Picture: Holstein UK

Shortlisted candidates are then invited for an interview with a judging panel.

The panel of judges this 12 months consisted of Holstein UK president John Jamieson, Semex consultant Rodger Mather, and Holstein UK’s business consultant Jane Arrell.

Holstein UK stated it was delighted to welcome the judges, together with the eight shortlisted younger breeders, to the brand new Holstein UK Head Workplace in Telford, Shropshire, for the primary in-person President’s Medal interviews since 2019.